Quick Pick

Anderson County

--Honea Path
--West Pelzer

Cherokee County

Greenville County
--Fountain Inn
--Travelers Rest

Oconee County
--West Union

Pickens County
--Six Mile

Spartanburg County
--Central Pacolet



The South Carolina Appalachian Council of Governments, located in Greenville, South Carolina, serves local governments in Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, and Spartanburg counties.

The Council of Governments assists the six counties and their forty-two municipalities by helping them to acquire state and federal funds for economic and community development; administering a wide variety of services to the elderly under the Older Americans Act; and working with local governments to improve their services in areas such as planning, financial management, vehicle maintenance, purchasing, computerization, and personnel systems. Some services provided through the Council benefit both the public and private sectors; for example, the Council annually publishes multi-family housing surveys for Anderson, Greenville, and Spartanburg Counties, as well as county economic profiles and economic activity reports for the region. The Council of Governments also provides GIS computer mapping products and other types of demographic and economic information on the region in response to public and private requests. Loans to businesses and industrial firms are available through the Council's Appalachian Development Corporation.

The Council is governed by a forty-two member board, two-thirds of whom are elected officials from the region. It has a professional staff of forty-four.




State Officers and US Senators

Counties, Cities & Towns

About the Appalachian Council of Governments

Staff Contact List

©2007 SC Appalachian Council of Governments